top of page

Lavania, ex Mrs. Singapore Asean and creator of Dance Embassy shares her motherhood journey.

A chance repost of an infant sleeping with his mom, led me to Lavania Lav Hajji, Mrs Singapore Asean 2017 and creator of Dance Embassy. Lavania is mum to 9 months boy. Lavania's passion for dance has helped lot of people to be happy because she doesn't teach them how to dance, she teaches to live. When you learn the basic art of living, then nothing can stop you from being happy and do whatever you want.



Her motherhood journey is going great but to kick-start this journey, she had a little bumpy ride. Her short and crisp answers to our chat, shows how she is trying to complete all her commitments when the little one is asleep. This is how a new mum tries to manage her time and work but society never stops judging us.


Priyata: How has been the journey as a new mother so far?


Lavania: It has been positively good. The first week was a challenge as I was trying to come to terms with the new lifestyle but after realizing what gift I have, I changed my mindset and embraced it.


Priyata: You got to know about your pregnancy at your doctor's clinic, which you were not expecting. What was the experience like?


Lavania: I was actually trying to conceive for 2 years and then sought a fertility doctor’s advise. It was at his clinic that I found out I was already a month into my pregnancy. God’s blessing indeed! I was elated and totally on cloud nine.


Priyata: How do you juggle between your work and your infant?


Lavania: I somehow do! I am blessed to have a helper and my mom to look after my baby when I am away for work. That’s about 2 hours a day. Other than that, I am a very hands on mom. I keep my baby entertained while I try to squeeze in work. It is NOT easy.


Priyata: Does it get overwhelming when you choose to work with an infant?


Lavania: Yes of course, and when it does get overwhelming, I seek help. I take a breather away from my baby and I come back rejuvenated. Breaks are so important!


Priyata: How do you deal with being judged by the family members or some people around you? Is being judged even real?


Lavania: I choose not to let it get to me. I know I am a dinner table topic to some but that’s what it is. People talk about you because you are interesting and since time is so precious, I take it as a compliment that they take their time out to talk about me!


Priyata: You are Vegan. How easy or difficult it is to be one in Singapore?

Lavania: I was vegetarian for 7 years and vegan for a year. It wasn’t difficult at all. There are so many options in Singapore. It’s difficult when I was travelling!

Priyata: How did the little one change your life? Were you expecting the changes? When they happened were they the same changes that you expected?


Lavania: Pregnancy and delivery is way much easier and I am glad I sought advise form many mothers and learned from their many different experiences and perspectives but after all I adopted my own and I am happy with it. The only change that took some time getting used to is the lifestyle change. My schedule now depends on his feeding, sleeping and bath times. I don’t compromise on that.


Priyata: Do you really think life as a mother is hard? Or it is just too much of hype around?



Lavania: It is hard of course. Also, it depends on how much you want to take on. I know of some mothers who let their nannies take over the upbringing while they are just available for feeds. That’s their prerogative. Mom guilt is real and I really admire women who have to work a 9-5 job, away from their babies. So I guess every situation of being a mom is hard.


Priyata: You were Mrs. Singapore 2017. That’s wow! How was it being at that place?

Lavania: I wasn’t expecting that win at all. My pageant director gave me lots of motivation and she believed in me. The competition was tough but she always told me to do my best.


Priyata: You are fitness enthusiast. How did you get back to your routine after you delivered this little bundle of joy?


Lavania: I went back to my regular routine after 2 months. Getting back to shape was hard. I was in a bit of a denial with the changes in my body but I persevered. It helps to be in the fitness industry and be aware of how the body changes during and post pregnancy so I took the necessary steps to be in my best shape and form.


Priyata: I got to know from your feeds, that you love dance. When this affair with dance start and how did you manage your passion when you were carrying this little one in your womb?


Lavania: Yes, I love dance ever since I can remember. I wasn’t encouraged to take it on as a profession, so when I was old enough to make my own decision, I decided I wanted to foray into it. It wasn’t an easy start but I worked really hard, networked and proved my worth. It’s still a learning journey but I am sure at a better place than before. I continued dancing and even took on learning belly dancing whilst pregnant and did my first performance at 6 months!


Priyata: Tell something about your Dance Embassy?



Lavania: Dance Embassy is a community of dance and fitness enthusiasts. Often at times we see the industry portraying the perfect body or you need to have a certain dance background to enjoy dance. Dance Embassy strives to break such stereotypes. Once there was a client that introduced me in her party announcing me as “Lavania can make even a chicken dance!”. We have students of all ages and backgrounds and when they are in my class, categorization do not exist!


Priyata: How do you plan your next few years with the baby and work?


Lavania: There are a few plans. Dance Embassy is not all about me. As a serial entrepreneur, I have a few projects up my sleeve and I’m blessed with a team to support those projects and to bring it to fruition. You will see soon :) Just follow us on our social media accounts. @danceembassy @lavania_lav_hajji @tintedwateva


Priyata: Singapore is a kid friendly country. How much you agree with this?


Lavania: VERY MUCH SO! There are so many activities and mommies support groups. I even have my very own called MIBA Singapore, a franchise from the UK started by 2 mommy sisters. We just launched it with Roshni Mahtani, CEO of TheAsianparent as our first guest speaker and it went really well!


Priyata: You love Singapore because ………


Lavania: I love Singapore because it’s my own. I am the 4th generation and even though I love travelling, I get homesick missing the food, comfort, safety, my friends, my students!



Priyata: Share your travel experience with the little one?


Lavania: Love it! He’s such a joy to travel with and helps that he’s quite a charmer too. Staffs at the hotels are most willing to babysit him :p

Priyata: Thank you sparing your time for the blog. Hope to see you in MIBA Singapore event soon!


Lavania: Pleasure!


Happy Reading!

0 comments
bottom of page