top of page

Hyderabad Diaries with Mushroom

Updated: Jun 14, 2018

The last blog I wrote was in May 2014 and promised that will keep updating or pen down my thoughts of our journey and experiences with my dog Mushroom. Though photographs of our outings were being posted on FB but giving them words and framing the experiences in sentences is always magical.

In the last couple of months, Mushroom made some friends in our township and some of them are besties too. She eagerly waits for her early morning playtime with Oscar and Leon . She is a lovely dog who just wants to spend her time playing, getting cuddled and pampered. When in June my in laws and two niece visited us for the first time after marriage they were bit shocked to see such a BIG dog. Yes for many people Mushroom is a big dog and they are those who have no idea about dogs. Back to my in-laws and Mushroom..I was happy to see how beautifully they accepted her so early..especially my niece they just loved her and used to wait for me to take them along for morning and evening walks with Mushroom. I would say I am blessed with such wonderful extended family. My father-in-law called her Tommy because they owned a dog once named Tommy. And my mother-in-law made sure that I am giving her food on time. When they left after 10 joyful days with us, both Mushroom and We (Sanjeev and I) felt so lonely for a week but  got back into our routine soon. Though I still miss that happy welcoming sounds at home after I come back from work. 



In July 2014 there was not  much to do as Hyderabad was blessed with so much heat. So our small pet parents' group decided to take our kids and surprise them with water fun. One of the pet owners who knows some beautiful and green locations in Hyderabad anchored all of us to a lake closer to our township. Our dogs had some amazing fun in that water. They splashed, they swam, they played and madam Mushroom took a mud spa (she rolled in mud completely) and then cleaned herself in the water. Thank God she did this task on her own because if she would not have our car would have got filled with mud. After we came back from the watery outing, Mushroom slept like hell. She had a wonderful time with her friends and in water.



In August when I came to Delhi to meet my family while Sanjeev stayed back in Hyderabad for his official commitments we decided to drop Mushroom @ Petcetra Homestays, a kennel just for namesake. Mushroom was there for five days and am absolutely sure that she had a great time there. Sumathi, who owns the kennel, Petcetra, where people can leave their pets without a hitch. She never cages them and keeps them opened so that they have a lot of play time together. When we went to pick Mushroom up, I was so happy to see two things, firstly Mushroom's reaction on seeing us and secondly Sumathi gave us an envelope with some observations about Mushroom and a picture of hers titled "Poised". This shows that she gives so much time to each dog who visits her Petcetra Homestay. 


Few weeks later, Oscar and Mushroom went to ISB lush green grounds. Though this outing was planned few times before also but somehow it did not get materialized. Both the dogs had a great time walking amidst lot of trees and we too had a quality time inhaling fresh air during our conversations. Thanks to Kakoli for this. Hope we plan many more soon.



When my mum and nephew visited us 3 weeks back Mushroom was all over my mum, I am glad that she remembered her after good 8 months. Actually Mushroom is with us because of my mum...had she not supported this bundle of love, gifted by Sanjeev, I could never had a chance to be with Mushroom. She took great care of both my dogs. I still remember how my mother used to get irritated when Mushroom used to make our home dirty during her growing up days and how she ate so many pairs of expensive footwear of my mum.


Thanks mommy.

Happy Reading!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page